Read on to discover more about the history of All Saints Church, Newton on Ouse including the connection to the Dawnay and Bourchier families at Beningbrough Hall and the War Graves section of the churchyard.
There has been a church in Newton since Saxon times. Originally dedicated to All Saints it was known as St Mary's circa 1848-1890 before reverting back to All Saints. The current Grade II Listed Building dates from 1849, although the Tower is approximately 900 years old. The church was rebuilt twice in the 19th Century, first in 1839 and then again in 1849. Both rebuilds were financed by the Dawnay family who resided at nearby Beningbrough Hall. John Oates was commissioned by the 6th Viscount Downe, William Henry Dawnay, to rebuild the body of the church and this was completed in 1839. Just ten years later Dawnay's daughter the Hon. Lydia Dawnay commission George Townsend Andrews to rebuild the church and it was at this stage that the magnificent spire, 150ft from the ground, was added.William Dawnay, 6th Viscount Downe and his wife are interred in the church with the fine memorial brass now fixed to the Chancel wall.